Graduate Alumni

Graduate Students

Gina Roesch

Credentials: PhD

B.S. Indiana University at Bloomington (2018)
UW Madison, PhD, 2023
Thesis: Innovation in Mass Spectrometry Instrumentation for Applications in Cryogenic Ion Vibrational Spectroscopy
Current: Research Scientist in the Nonstructural Materials Division at the University of Dayton Research Institute

Cole Sagan

Credentials: PhD

St. John’s University, BS, 2017
UW Madison, PhD, 2023
Thesis: Total Photoelectron Yield Spectroscopy
Makes Model Systems of Polycyclic
Aromatic Hydrocarbon Anion Resonances
Current: Princeton Dept of Chemistry, Postdoc (with Prof. Marissa Weichman)

Summer Sherman

Credentials: PhD

University of California, San Diego, BS, 2017
UW Madison, PhD, 2022
Thesis: Utilizing Cryogenic Ion Vibrational Spectroscopy to Investigate How Side Chains Affect Structure and Solvation of Small Peptides
Current: UW Madison Dept of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Postdoc (with Prof. Christy Remucal)

2022: Wisconsin Initiative for Science Literacy Award for Communicating PhD Research to the Public
2021: Farrington Daniels Ethical Leadership Award
2021: GSFLC Chemistry Department Travel Award
2019: Schrag Pre-Dissertator Travel Grant
2017: Fall 2017 Honored Instructor
2017: Pei Wang UW Fellowship

Casey "Chaz" Howdieshell

Eastern Kentucky University, BS, 2014
Eastern Kentucky University, MS, 2015
UW Madison, PhD, 2021

Thesis: Linear Digital Ion Trap Mass Spectrometry and its Application for Cryogenic Ion Spectroscopy
Current: Integration Engineer/Team Lead at Erisyon in Austin, Texas

Kaitlyn Fischer

Creighton University, BS, 2015
UW Madison, PhD, 2019
Thesis: Using Cryogenic Ion Vibrational Spectroscopy to Investigate the Microsolvation of Amino Acids and Small Peptides
Current: At Midwestern University for PA (Physician’s Assistant) school

Glen Thurston

Credentials: PhD

Brigham Young University, BS, 2014
UW Madison, PhD, 2019
Thesis: Investigating a-Oligothiophenes of Chain Lengths 3 to 5 Using Anion Photoelectron Spectroscopy 
Current: Brigham Young University Law

Steve Kregel

Credentials: PhD

University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign, BS with distinction, 2013
UW Madison, PhD, 2018
Thesis: Construction of an Anion Photoelectron Spectrometer for Investigating Singlet Fission in Molecular Clusters
Metrologist at PPD
Current: UW Madison, Postdoc (with Prof. Tim Bertram and Prof. Gil Nathanson)

Jonathan Voss

Credentials: PhD

University of New Haven, BS, 2013
UW Madison, PhD, 2018
Thesis: Developing Cryogenic Ion Vibrational Spectroscopy Methods for the Characterization of Molecular Interactions
Current: Research chemist at Johns Manville

Erin Duffy

Credentials: PhD

Syracuse University, BS, 2012
UW Madison, PhD, 2017
Thesis: A Ruthenium Water Oxidation Catalyst and Intermediates: Vibrational Spectroscopy of Isolated and Solvated Cryogenic Ions
Michigan State University, Postdoc (with Prof. Melanie Cooper)
Current: Assistant Professor at Western Washington University

2018: Finalist for the APS Division of Chemical Physics Doctoral Dissertation Award
2014: Chemistry Department T-Shirt Design Contest Winner

Brett Marsh

Credentials: PhD

Purdue University, BS, 2011
UW Madison, PhD, 2015
Thesis: Cryogenic Ion Vibrational Spectroscopy of Metal Complexes: Solvation and Reactions
UC Berkeley, Postdoc (with Prof. Steve Leone)

Current: Analytical chemist at Corteva Agriscience

2014: John Schrag Analytical Fund Travel Award
2014: First Place Analytical Poster at the GSFLC Poster Session
2013: Chemistry Department Cookie Contest Winner (Non-Cookie Category) for his entry, “Ham”


Katharina Meyer


B.S. (2013): Georg-August-Universitat Göttingen
M.S. (2016): Georg-August-Universitat Göttingen
Ph.D. (2019): Georg-August-Universitat Göttingen
Thesis: Carboxylic Acids under Vibrational Scrutiny: Experimental Reference Data to Benchmark Quantum Chemical Calculations
Advisor: Prof. Martin Suhm
Current: Development engineer in measurement technology at Sick AG

Undergraduate Alumni

Christina McNerney

UW Madison, BS, 2018
Current: The Johns Hopkins University (PhD expected 2024)

Mike Soukup

UW Madison, BS, 2016

2014: ACS Wisconsin Section Award for Excellence in Analytical Chemistry

Matthew Weis

UW Madison, BS, 2012